Price Channel (PCH)

How do you rate this article?
'''Description'''
The Price Channel consists of two bands running above and below a Moving Average. The distance to the Moving Average, which need not be plotted, depends on the parameters which are set according to the required sensitivity.

'''Calculation'''
A percentage value is added to the value of the Moving Average, in order to obtain the upper band. To obtain the lower band, a percentage value is subtracted from the value of the Moving Average.

'''Formula'''
Click to zoom image
where SMA is the Simple Moving Average.

'''Parameters'''
The parameter of the Moving Average can assume any value between 1 and 500. The standard setting is n = 10. The two parameters used for setting the percentage deviation are known as the "upper range" u and the "lower range" d. They can assume any positive value. The standard setting is 1.

'''Interpretation'''
As is the case for all channel indicators, when the instrument breaks out of the channel, this can be interpreted as a trading signal. For example, when the instrument closes above the upper limiting band in a market with an up trend, this is considered a buy signal. In a really trendless market, the instrument should not run near the bands for any length of time. If this does happen or if the instrument even breaks out, this may signal a new trend.

This article and displayed results, created with the available presentation and analysis tools, are used solely for information and do not provide investment advice or recommendation of any kind. All rights reserved. Reproduction, edits and other unauthorized use are under civil and criminal law.

Price Channel (PCH)

Wie bewerten Sie diesen Artikel?
Beschreibung
Der Price Channel besteht aus zwei Bändern, die oberhalb und unterhalb eines Moving Averages verlaufen. Der Abstand zum Moving Average, der nicht in der Darstellung aufgetragen werden muß, hängt von den Parametern ab, die man nach benötigter Empfindlichkeit einstellt.

Berechnung
Zum Wert des Moving Averages wird ein prozentualer Anteil addiert, um das obere Band zu erhalten. Um das untere Band zu erhalten, subtrahiert man vom Wert des Moving Averages einen prozentualen Anteil.

Formel
Anklicken zum Vergrößern
Mit dem Simple Moving Average SMA.

Parameter
Der Parameter des Moving Averages kann jeden Wert zwischen 1 und 500 annehmen. Die Standardeinstellung ist n = 10. Die beiden Parameter, die zur Einstellung der prozentualen Abweichung dienen werden als "Upper Range" u und als "Lower Range" d bezeichnet. Sie können jeden positiven Wert annehmen. Die Standardeinstellung ist 1.

Interpretation
Wie bei allen Kanalindikatoren kann man das Ausbrechen des Titels aus dem Kanal als Handelssignal interpretieren. So ist es zum Beispiel als Kaufsignal zu interpretieren, wenn der Titel in einem Markt mit Aufwärtstrend oberhalb des oberen Begrenzungsband schließt. In einem wirklich trendlosen Markt sollte der Titel nicht lange in der Nähe der Bänder verlaufen. Sollte das nicht der Fall sein oder der Titel sogar ausbrechen, dann kann das einen beginnenden Trend anzeigen.

Quellen

Robert W Colby "The Encyklopedia of technical Market Indicators"
VTAD Wiki

Dieser Artikel, sowie die mit den verfügbaren Darstellungs- und Analysewerkzeugen erstellten und angezeigten Ergebnisse dienen ausschließlich zur Information und stellen keine Anlageberatung oder sonstige Empfehlung dar. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Vervielfältigungen, Bearbeitungen sowie sonstige unberechtigte Nutzungen werden zivil- und strafrechtlich verfolgt.